More Commentaries
Commentary
Thursday, August 21, 2014

In the past, when the opposition leader said something, world leaders listened, but these days Washington seems to have shifted its priorities.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

To democracy advocates’ chagrin, Burma’s record of martial leadership is likely to continue through the next presidential election.

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Burma’s political system is stacked against new faces, so a similar outcome to the Indonesian elections should not be expected next year.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Burma has much to learn from the life of veteran journalist and pro-democracy activist Win Tin, a man of integrity who passed away on Monday.

Monday, April 7, 2014

The president shows support as a famous Burmese activist ties the knot, but has the government actually moved past PR?

Saturday, April 5, 2014

As the reform process loses momentum, foreign diplomats and donors should not be fooled by political manipulation or the progress of three years ago.

Monday, March 24, 2014

The inclusion of a question on ethnicity in the country’s first census for 30 years is causing consternation among Burma’s many ethnic groups.

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Burma is a country reborn, but without constitutional change it will achieve only a faux democracy controlled by former military rulers.

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Aung San Suu Kyi’s efforts to amend the Constitution in time for elections two years from now show no signs of succeeding.

Friday, November 1, 2013

Constitutional change is crucial, and we should be careful that any attempt to achieve it is not counterproductive.

Page 1 of 512...Last »