More Commentaries
Commentary
Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Burma’s Commander-in-Chief is no stranger to conflict near the China border. Did he foresee recent clashes that would kill dozens of his own men?

Sunday, February 15, 2015

Peng Jiasheng, the Kokang leader heavily involved in the drug trade, was once a darling of the military government—now he’s on its most wanted list.

Saturday, February 7, 2015

A high school reunion in Rangoon sparks memories of life lessons from the classroom and on the streets.

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

There is no shortcut to a free and prosperous country, writes Irrawaddy founding editor Aung Zaw.

Monday, November 10, 2014

Before receiving US President Barack Obama, Burmese pundits welcome his administration’s decision to blacklist one of the ruling party’s most powerful and notorious lawmakers.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

The killing of Aung Kyaw Naing in military custody in Mon State belies the government’s claim that “considerable progress” has been made on human rights.

Friday, September 26, 2014

The Saffron Revolution showcased Burma’s monks at their best, but that moral standing has been eroded by a manipulative old guard that still holds power.

Friday, September 12, 2014

A new book on the late prime minister and top general Soe Win provides a misleading account of his career in Burma’s former military regime.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

As leader of the world’s sole superpower in tumultuous times, Barack Obama needs Burma as a foreign policy success story, but should it be?

Friday, August 8, 2014

US Secretary of State John Kerry faces difficult questions when he arrives in Burma this weekend amid negative media reports about backsliding on political reforms.

Page 1 of 712345...Last »