More Commentaries
Commentary
Tuesday, October 28, 2014

The killing of Aung Kyaw Naing in military custody in Mon State belies the government’s claim that “considerable progress” has been made on human rights.

Friday, September 26, 2014

The Saffron Revolution showcased Burma’s monks at their best, but that moral standing has been eroded by a manipulative old guard that still holds power.

Friday, September 12, 2014

A new book on the late prime minister and top general Soe Win provides a misleading account of his career in Burma’s former military regime.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

As leader of the world’s sole superpower in tumultuous times, Barack Obama needs Burma as a foreign policy success story, but should it be?

Friday, August 8, 2014

US Secretary of State John Kerry faces difficult questions when he arrives in Burma this weekend amid negative media reports about backsliding on political reforms.

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Recent inter-communal violence is just the latest event to distract attention in Burma from the real problems the country should be tackling.

Saturday, July 5, 2014

As Burma burns, the rest of the world continues to act as if it believes the country’s rulers are sincere about bringing democratic change.

Saturday, May 31, 2014

On Rangoon’s Ady Road, the EU Ambassador to Burma is renting an expensive, sumptuous villa from the family of former Burmese dictator Ne Win.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Following Burma’s opening up, UN donor agencies have rapidly expanded operations, but they find themselves boosting an economy owned by ex-generals, drug lords and cronies.

Friday, May 9, 2014

Few countries have reengaged with Burma’s government faster than Norway. But some democracy activists wonder how Oslo’s approach is advancing democratic reform and peace.

Page 1 of 612345...Last »