More Commentaries
Friday, October 16, 2015

It remains to be seen whether the signing of a so-called nationwide ceasefire agreement this week can further a peace process still far from complete.

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Government office building No. 37 in Naypyidaw was reportedly once at the center of plans for a Than Shwe-led council to oversee the country’s transition.

Saturday, September 26, 2015

A look back at the legacy of the 2007 Saffron Uprising.

Friday, September 25, 2015

The close relationship between U Nu and Israel’s former PM David Ben-Gurion marked a high-point in Israel-Burma ties that have since been left to drift.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

The infamous political purges of Burma’s junta-era were recalled on Wednesday night, as parliamentary speaker Shwe Mann was purged from the ruling party.

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

With Aung San Suu Kyi visiting China, this story from 2013 looks at the changing dynamics of Naypyidaw’s relationship with Beijing and the wider world.

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Suu Kyi has taken on a variety of roles in decades past, but it’s the popular political figure—not the face of democracy—that Beijing wants to

Thursday, June 4, 2015

Tensions between the Buddhist and Muslim communities in Rakhine State have long existed, stoked by a complex legacy dating back to British colonial rule.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Numerous critics have expressed concern about five development projects in the vicinity of the country’s most famous religious icon. Planning reform in Rangoon is long

Saturday, May 9, 2015

A recent photograph on social media is the latest source of speculation over former junta leader Than Shwe.

Page 1 of 912345...Last »