More Commentaries
Commentary
Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Recent inter-communal violence is just the latest event to distract attention in Burma from the real problems the country should be tackling.

Saturday, July 5, 2014

As Burma burns, the rest of the world continues to act as if it believes the country’s rulers are sincere about bringing democratic change.

Saturday, May 31, 2014

On Rangoon’s Ady Road, the EU Ambassador to Burma is renting an expensive, sumptuous villa from the family of former Burmese dictator Ne Win.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Following Burma’s opening up, UN donor agencies have rapidly expanded operations, but they find themselves boosting an economy owned by ex-generals, drug lords and cronies.

Friday, May 9, 2014

Few countries have reengaged with Burma’s government faster than Norway. But some democracy activists wonder how Oslo’s approach is advancing democratic reform and peace.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Win Tin, whose funeral is held in Rangoon on Wednesday, remained unbroken despite nearly two decades in prison, and told his jailers to go to

Friday, March 28, 2014

An increasingly skeptical public sees a “new Burma” where power remains in the same old hands, and “problems of the past” are still present-day realities.

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

On the eve of Armed Forces Day, speculation swirls that a meeting among the “big four” in Burma’s politics may be nigh.

Sunday, March 9, 2014

Despite ending official censorship, Burma’s government is still firmly in control of the media, and is now making it even harder for journalists to do

Friday, February 28, 2014

Burma’s former dictator didn’t just destroy Burma through his own misrule, but also by appointing a successor who was as bad or worse.

Page 1 of 612...Last »