More Articles
articles
Tuesday, July 14, 2015

The century-old Chin Tsong Palace, known locally as “Kanbawza Yeiktha,” was designated as a cultural heritage site by Burma’s Ministry of Culture last week.

Friday, July 10, 2015

With Myanmar’s political dynamics up in the air ahead of elections in November, China has opened its arms to the influential opposition leader.

Friday, March 27, 2015

The Irrawaddy’s Editor in Chief Aung Zaw speaks with Gen. Gun Maw of the Kachin Independence Army about recent conflicts and Burma’s prospects for peace.

Friday, December 5, 2014

As Norwegian King Harald V wraps up a state visit to Burma, The Irrawaddy reflects on the changing relationship between the two nations.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

A flamboyant Chinese tycoon left behind a lavish colonial-era palace in central Rangoon.

Saturday, September 6, 2014

An army past has long been the businessman's best asset—but the rules of the game may now be shifting.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

With searching renewed this month at the Yangon and Bago rivers’ confluence, The Irrawaddy looks back at some of the lore surrounding the Dhammazedi Bell.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

As Yangon’s Golden Valley enjoys an unexpected cash bonanza, questions around some surprise beneficiaries of the current reform period are unlikely to go away.

Monday, July 28, 2014

US Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor Tom Malinowski speaks about Burma’s transition, the 2015 elections, religious violence and military cooperation.

Saturday, May 17, 2014

The legend of the Dhammazedi Bell, supposedly lost in the murky Yangon River, has long chimed with dreamers and schemers alike.

Saturday, May 10, 2014

Weeks after the fatal cyclone struck, it remains unclear how many people have died, as the regime plucks improbable statistics out of thin air.

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Six years since Cyclone Nargis killed at least 138,000 people in southwestern Burma, The Irrawaddy republishes a commentary from immediately after the disaster.

Monday, April 21, 2014

Win Tin was a true believer in democracy and press freedom. His unrelenting, sharp criticism of Burma’s past and current government will be greatly missed.

Friday, December 27, 2013

The president of the National Endowment for Democracy talks about Myanmar’s ongoing reform process and his meetings with men who once considered him the enemy.

Friday, October 25, 2013

In an exclusive interview conducted during his official visit to Thailand in late September, Union Parliament Speaker Shwe Mann detailed his transformation under Burma’s reforms.

Page 1 of 3123