More Articles
articles
Saturday, September 6, 2014

An army past has long been the businessman's best asset—but the rules of the game may now be shifting.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

With searching renewed this month at the Yangon and Bago rivers’ confluence, The Irrawaddy looks back at some of the lore surrounding the Dhammazedi Bell.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

As Yangon’s Golden Valley enjoys an unexpected cash bonanza, questions around some surprise beneficiaries of the current reform period are unlikely to go away.

Saturday, August 2, 2014

If Myanmar wants to move forward and beyond the religious violence that rocked Mandalay last month, it should look more deeply into its past.

Monday, July 28, 2014

US Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor Tom Malinowski speaks about Burma’s transition, the 2015 elections, religious violence and military cooperation.

Saturday, June 7, 2014

While the government of President U Thein Sein has won accolades overseas, few at home see much reason to celebrate.

Saturday, May 17, 2014

The legend of the Dhammazedi Bell, supposedly lost in the murky Yangon River, has long chimed with dreamers and schemers alike.

Saturday, May 10, 2014

Weeks after the fatal cyclone struck, it remains unclear how many people have died, as the regime plucks improbable statistics out of thin air.

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Six years since Cyclone Nargis killed at least 138,000 people in southwestern Burma, The Irrawaddy republishes a commentary from immediately after the disaster.

Monday, April 21, 2014

Win Tin was a true believer in democracy and press freedom. His unrelenting, sharp criticism of Burma’s past and current government will be greatly missed.

Friday, April 4, 2014

For many Myanmar dissidents living in exile, forged travel documents were the only thing standing between them and prison.

Saturday, February 15, 2014

Peace and prosperity will only come to Myanmar when its economy is based on something other than the ruthless exploitation of its people and resources.

Friday, December 27, 2013

The president of the National Endowment for Democracy talks about Myanmar’s ongoing reform process and his meetings with men who once considered him the enemy.

Saturday, December 21, 2013

Time and political will, not money or outside influence, will be the key to ending Myanmar’s decades of ethnic conflict.

Friday, October 25, 2013

In an exclusive interview conducted during his official visit to Thailand in late September, Union Parliament Speaker Shwe Mann detailed his transformation under Burma’s reforms.

Page 1 of 3123